Licensing

​​​​The WVABCA Licensing Division is responsible for ensuring applicants comply with West Virginia law pertaining to the issuance and maintenance of licenses, encompassing all aspects of the handling, serving, and sale of alcoholic beverages. The West Virginia Code and regulations permit these licenses to be issued only under strict and specific guidelines and require direct oversight to ensure the safety of customers, businesses and most importantly, the general public.
 
The Licensing Division is committed to providing fast, accurate, and courteous service while ensuring fair and equitable treatment of all applicants.

The majority of licenses issued in West Virginia consists of two basic types, Class A for on-premise consumption and Class B for off-premise consumption.

With the passage of the Governor's Bill HB 2025, the Governor provided COVID-19 relief for private club licenses effective May 10, 2021 for the 2021-2022 license period with licensee fees reduced to 1/3 of the current fee, for the 2022-2023 license period with license fees reduced to 2/3 of the current fee and for the 2023-2024 license period the fees return to normal.

An Operational Fee of $100 must be added for each licensed location.                                                               
A Reactivation Fee of $150 will apply for licensees that renew late.   
 
Generally, an applicant or licensee will need:
 
          (a)      to be in good standing with the West Virginia State Tax Department, WV Workers' Compensation, WV Unemployment and WV Secretary of State;
 
          (b)     to register its business with the WV Secretary of State's Office; and   
 
          (c)      complete the application, floorplan and submit all required documents,        
 
before an application will be initially reviewed. Mistakes or omissions in the application process may lead to delays in processing an application or renewal.      

CLASS A - Class A Licenses are issued for on-premise consumption. Annual fees are listed be​low:
 





​​


​2020-2021
​2021-2022
​2022-2023
​2023-2024 & Beyond
​ Private Club Bar or Private Club Restaurant (<1,000 members - liquor, wine & beer)
$1,150
$483.33​
$816.67​
$1,150​
 Private Club Bar or Private Club Restaurant (>1,000 members - liquor, wine & beer) 
$2,650 
​$983.33
​$1,816.67
​​$2,650
 Private Caterer (Private Club Restaurant license required)  $1,000
​​$333.33
​$666.67
​$1,000
 Private Manufacturer Club (liquor, wine & beer) 
$2,150
​$816.67
​$1,483.33
​$2,150
 Private Tennis Club
$2,150
​$816.67
​$1,483.33
​$2,150
 Private Farmers Market (Private Club Restaurant license required)
$2,150
​$816.67
​$1,483.33
​$2,150
 Private Professional Sports Stadium
$2,150
​$816.67
​$1,483.33
​$2,150
 Private Multi-Sport ​Complex
$2,150
​$816.67
​$1,483.33
​$2,150
 Private Wedding Venue or Barn
$1,650
​$650
​$1,150
​​$1,650
 Private Resort Hotel (1 to 5 areas)
$7,650
​$2,650
​$5,150
​$7,650
 Private Resort Hotel (6 to 10 areas)
$12,650
​$4,316.67
​$8,483.33
​$12,650
 Private Resort Hotel (11 to 15 areas)
$17,650
​$5,983.33
​$11,816.67
​$17,650
 Private Resort Hotel (16 to 20 areas)
$22,650
​$7,650
​$15,150
​$22,650
 Private Hotel
$4,150
​$1,483.33
​$2,816.67
​$4,150
 Private Golf Course (9 holes)
$2,150
​$816.67
​$1,483.33
​$2,150
 Private Golf Club (18 holes)​
$4,150
​$1,483.33
​$2,816.67
​$4,150
 Fraternal Club (Non-Profit - liquor, wine & beer)
$900
​$400
​$650
​$900
 Fraternal Club (Non-Profit) - beer
$150
​$150
​$150
​$150
 Private Wine Restaurant - wine only
$250
​$250
​$250
​$250
 ​Private Wine Restaurant - wine & beer only
​$400
​$400
​$400
​$400
​ Private Wine Spa - wine only
​$150
​$150
​$150
​$150
​ Private Wine Bed & Breakfast - wine only
​$150
​$150
​$150
​$150
​ Tavern - non-intoxicating beer
​$150
​$150
​$150
​$150
​ Brew Pub (Resident Brewer/Importer License Required)
​$1,000
​$1,000
​$1,000
​$1,000
​ *Special Events (Fairs/Fesitvals - liquor, wine & beer)
​$750
​$750
​$750
​$750
​ *Special Events (Fairs/Fesitvals - wine & beer)
​$500
​$500
​$500
​$500
​ *Special Events (Fairs/Fesitvals) - wine
​$250
​$250
​$250
​$250
​ *Special Events (Fairs/Fesitvals) - beer
​$250
​$250
​$250
​$250
​ *One Day Charitable Rare Liquor Auction (Private Club required)
​$150
​$150
​$150
​$150
​ *One Day Charitable Wine with Auction
​$0
​$0
​$0
​$0
​ *One Day Charitable Beer
​$0
​$0
​$0
​$0
​ *Private Multi-Vendor Fair or Festival (liquor, wine & beer)
​$500
​$500
​$500
​$500
​ *Nonintoxicating Beer or Nonintoxicating Craft Beer Floorplan Extension
​$50
​$50
​$50
​$50
​ *Private Club Bottle Sale
​$1,000
​$1,000
​$1,000
​$1,000
​ *Pre-Mixing Permit (Type of private club required)
​$0
​$0
​$0
​$0
​ Nonintoxicating Beer or Nonintoxicating Craft Beer - Outdoor Dining
​$0
​$0
​$0
​$0
​ Nonintoxicating Beer or Nonintoxicating Craft Beer - Outdoor Street Dining
​$0
​$0
​$0
​$0
​ Wine - Private Wine Outdoor Dining 
​$0
​$0
​$0
​$0
​ Wine - Private Wine Outdoor Street Dining
​$0
​$0
​$0
​$0
​ Liquor - Private Outdoor Dining
​$0
​$0
​$0
​$0
​ Liquor - Private Outdoor Street Dining
​$0
​$0
​$0
​​$​0
​​
CLASS B - Class B licenses are issued for off-premise consumption.  Annual fees are listed below:  

2020-2021
2021-2022​
2022-2023
2023-2024 & Beyond
 *Beer Growler 
$100​$100
$100​$100​
​ *Wine Growler
​$100
$100​$100​$100​
​ *Craft Cocktail Growler
$100​$100​$100​$100​
​ *Grocery - Curbside Beer
​$250
$250​$250​$250​
​ *Grocery - Curbside Wine
​$250
$250​$250
$250​
​ *Class A-beer, with food, Beer Delivery
​$0
$0​$0​$0​
 *Class A-wine, with food, Private Wine Delivery
​$0
$0​$0​$0​
​ *Class A-Craft Cocktail Growler, with food, Delivery
​$0
$0​$0​$0​
​ *Class B-beer, with food, Delivery
​$0
$0​$0​$0​
​ *Class B-wine, may have food, Private Wine Delivery
​$0
$0​$0​$0​
​ *Liquor Bottle Delivery (retail liquor outlet, may have food)
​$0
$0​$0​$0​
​ *Third Party Delivery Class A - beer with food
​$200
$200​$200​$200​
​ *Third Party Delivery Class A - wine with food
​$200
$200​$200​$200​
​ *Third Party Delivery Class A - craft cocktail growler with food
​$200
$200​$200​$200​
​ *Third Party Delivery Class B - beer with food
​$200
$200​$200​$200​
​ *Third Party Delivery Class B - wine may have food
​$200
$200​$200​$200​
​ *Third Party Delivery Liquor Bottle Delivery - may have food
​$200
$200​$200​$200​
​ *Wine Specialty Shop Delivery with Gift Basket
​$250
$250​$250​$250​
​ *Nonintoxicating Beer or Nonintoxicating Craft Beer Retail Transportation Permit
​$0
$0​$0​$0​
​ *Private Wine Retail Transportation Permit (1st vehicle/others)
​$10, $1
$10, $1​$10, $1​$10, $1​
​ *Private Cocktail Delivery Permit (1st vehicle/others)
​$10, $1
$10, $1​$10, $1​$10, $1​
​ *Private Liquor Bottle Delivery Permit (1st vehicle/others)
​$10, $1
$10, $1​
$10, $1​$10, $1​
​ *Class A or Class B - Curbside in-person/in-vehicle pickup (Class B that is a grocery store - see Grocery-Curbside)
​$0
$0​$0​$0​
 *Off-Premises Wine Sales - Private Clubs & Private Wine Restaurants only 
$100
$100​$100​$100​

*$100.00 Operational Fee Does Not Apply


The WVABCA operates on a fiscal year from July 1 to June 30. Some fees are prorated by half from January 1 to June 30.

Contact the Licensing Division between the hours of 8:00am - 5:00pm for information or assistance 304-356-5500 or ABCC.Licensing@wv.gov